“That crazy sister”

So my “baby” brother (who is now thirteen…how did that happen?) and I are super ridiculously close. He and I talk all the time and have sibbie dates and the whole shebang. I told him something that only a couple of people know so far. His reaction? “You’re gonna be that crazy sister that no one thinks exists because you’re gonna spend the rest of your life in Haiti.” So yup–here goes nothing!

I was offered a job to teach English in La Vallée, Haiti, and I think I might go for it.

haiti map

It would start next August (you read that correctly–August of 2017) and I would be teaching both primary and high school students. This opportunity came about kind of similarly to how I got this Matthew 25 gig–a friend asked if I’d be interested. So basically, the guy who asked I met on actually my last Haiti mission trip a few years ago. I saw him on the calendar to spend a few nights here at Matthew 25 and sent him a text saying I’d see him. We got to talking again, and then he asked if I’d be interested in teaching there this August. I told him I’d still be here in PAP, but then he asked if I’d like to NEXT year! So I told him I’d think about it.

The more and more I think about it (which in itself to me is pretty crazy since it’s like a year and a half away), the more excited I get. Just like this position, it’s something that doesn’t come along every day. And it’s pretty funny because a year or so ago, I had started getting certified for TEFL/TESOL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language/Teaching English to Speakers of Other  Languages). I started that because I thought it’d be fun just in case, but I never in my wildest dreams would’ve thought it could actually happen! Teaching in Haiti could jumpstart my dream of traveling for more than just a week or two at a time. Ah I’m so excited!!

6 thoughts on ““That crazy sister”

Leave a Reply

