Miss Congeniality

In my last post, I talked about some wisdom that a guest-friend, Bob, brought into a conversation. Well, here’s a thought-provoking question that a different guest-friend named Bob threw out there at breakfast this morning.

One of the questions I get asked pretty often is, “So what are you going to do next?” To which I make a face, laugh, and reply, “Weeeellllll…I have absolutely NO IDEA.” This question was once again asked at breakfast, and Bob jumped in before I had a chance to spit out my well-practiced answer.

“Why are we asking her what she’s going to do? Shouldn’t we be asking her and everyone else what problems they want to solve instead?”

Now stop.

Take a minute.

Think about it.

Let it sink in.

Okay, so come back to me. I’ve been thinking, meditating, and praying about this question all day. When Bob initially brought up that great perspective (and everyone at the table looked at me expectantly), I think I said something along the lines of, “Um well I love people so I think I’d want to work towards world peace.” Which is totally cliche and makes me think of this glorious scene from Miss Congeniality.

Sorry, ADHD. But I think I really do want to do something along those lines. Now, how to get there is an entirely different thing. Here’s what I’ve come up with–PLEASE let me know your thoughts below in the comments! I’m eager to hear/read what you think of this!

  • World peace, in my opinion, starts with trying to imitate Christ (if you’re a believer) and loving each other (although I know entirely too well that it’s not always an easy task).
  • Achieving world peace isn’t a one-person thing–while one person can definitely make a difference, something of this magnitude requires more/all people to truly make it work. And let’s be real, if it was a one-person thing, we’d almost certainly have already achieved world peace!
  • It has to start with ourselves (again, I know it’s cliche but just try to accept this). When you break up with someone, people say that you have to work on yourself and learn to love yourself before you can love someone else. Cliche and frankly annoying, but it’s true. If you’re not at peace with who you are and what you’re doing, maybe you need to evaluate yourself.  As the incredibly over-quoted (but for a good reason) Gandhi quote goes, “Be the change you wish to see in the world.”

I don’t know if it will happen in my lifetime, but I know I’ll do whatever I can do to try to get us a little closer day by day to attaining world peace.

2 thoughts on “Miss Congeniality

Leave a Reply

