Love, The Beatles

FYI, this is going to be a pretty short post on something I could probably go on forever about.

I’m a HUGE Beatles fan–just scroll to the top and check out the name of this whole blog. Yup, I was born Abigail Rhoades as my first and middle names -> Abby  Rhoades -> Abbey Road. BAM. I always say that my dad raised me on The Beatles, Sugar Ray, Bruce Springsteen, and Crosby, Stills, and Nash. He raised me right!

Anyways, so The Beatles wrote some of the most iconic love songs (in my opinion, at least). They ran the gamut of pretty much everything relating to love, and set the bar in doing so. Click through a few of these to get in the vibe.

Okay, now that you have these classic masterpieces stuck in your head in a beautiful way, let’s get to it. It’s Valentine’s Day, and while there are about a bajillion things I could write about being a hopeless romantic, being single, love, heartbreak, joy, the “Hallmark holiday,” and the date’s history, I’m going to let my favorite cover of a classic song speak for me. Haters, don’t hate–this is wonderful and I blessed you with a plethora of Beatles love songs above. CHILL.

“All You Need is Love,” came to mind when I was reflecting on my surroundings. Here in Haiti, the people don’t have much, but they what they have plenty of is love. These people love each other so much and they love God even more somehow. Love is the ultimate connector–it connects us to each other, creation, and God. I’m a huge believer in the little things; as Mother Teresa said, “Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.”  Love can be as simple as brushing someone’s hair out of their face (my absolute favorite thing ever–makes me so weak at the knees!) or giving a stranger a smile or asking someone how they’re doing and genuinely listening (crazy, I know). Love is everywhere. All [these] people need is love. Money can’t buy them love. Love is all they need.

 

One thought on “Love, The Beatles

Leave a Reply

