Things I’ve learned about…why everyone should do this.

I’ve only been here for a few months, but I’ve known for pretty much that whole time how much of a blessing this is. Not just having this incredible opportunity to live and work here, but the opportunity to come here in the first place. And I’ve formed the solid opinion that everyone should do something like this, even if just for a few days. By “this” I mean going to a third world country and actually living in it (as opposed to spending all your time at fancy hotels and restaurants–yes, they exist even in third world countries).

  • you meet amazing people with super cool stories and motivations…the way I phrase it is “learning what makes people’s hearts beat”
  • the world reveals itself to you in ways you could never possibly have imagined
  • seeing and hearing pictures, videos, and stories are all great, but they don’t do your experiences justice
    • as I’ve told other people, even if you’re on a trip with a group and you do the exact same things, everyone will get their own takeaways from those experiences
  • you learn a lot about yourself and others–you’re stronger than you think
  • doors will open
  • these people and places stick with you and can encourage you to continue to do good
  • you will laugh so much and have a splendid time, even though some parts might not be always rainbows, butterflies, and unicorns
  • love is universal
  • you realize how blessed you are
    • if you’re anything like me, you probably want(ed) to be “roughing it” more here than you are/were!
  • you get back sooooo much more than you ever could have given…even though that probably wasn’t the point of your trip
  • And finally, an important thing to remember…
  • if you don’t get at least something out of it, you probably aren’t putting enough into it

I want my baby brother Liam (ahem, mom) and Ri to come. I want my parents to come. I want my friends to come. I want my grandparents to come. I want everyone to come and know Haiti as I’ve gotten to. It’s amazing. More than just Haiti though, I want everyone I know and love to be able to experience the third world life in some way. There aren’t limits. You don’t have to be young, you don’t have to be old. You don’t have to be white, you don’t have to be black. You don’t have to be Catholic or Christian, you don’t have to be agnostic or atheist. You don’t have to have traveled, you don’t have to be a novice traveler.  You just have to do it.

Leave a Reply

