save a life, please…it’s easier than it sounds!

I am here asking you to please, prayerfully, at least consider donating blood. On a daily basis (or so it seems), I receive e-mails from the Indiana Blood Center and the Red Cross. Both organizations (and I’m assuming they’re not alone) are in desperate need of blood donations. According to one of three e-mails I received today, it takes 550 donors EVERY SINGLE DAY to maintain a “sufficient blood supply for the patients and hospitals served by Indiana Blood Center.” The entire donation process is normally right around an hour long and there are so many great things that can come out of it (and did I mention the donation itself is normally around ten minutes?!?)!

If I was stateside, I would be donating at every chance I could–just like I did before I came to Haiti. When I come back, I’ll have to wait a little over a year before I can donate again (one year because I came here, plus 3 months because you’re eligible to donate two years after contracting malaria–and for me, most of the first year is spent here). I urge you to please donate! It’s not tough and it’s actually kind of addicting, at least for me. If the feel-good part doesn’t do it on it’s own, I know some donor centers offer incentives, like gift cards or raffle entries (plus of course the free treats you have to snack on for like 10 or 15 minutes after donating).

For the Red Cross, the super simple requirements are as follows:
1) “be in general good health and feeling well”
2) be at least 17 (or in some states, 16 with parental consent–Indiana is one of these!)
3) weigh at least 110 lbs
4) you must not have donated within the last 8 weeks–once 8 weeks are up, you’re eligible again! I personally had it calendared every 8 weeks to donate

You will also need to present valid identification (a driver’s license will do the trick). Depending on the donor center, registration may be required, but not always.

And lastly, a few blood donation facts:
-one donation can help up to three people
-every two seconds, someone is in need of blood
-a single car accident victim can require 100 units of blood (for reference, the average donation is 1 pint)
-while 38% of the US population is eligible to donate, less than 10% of that eligible population actually do (womp womp not good!)
-3 teaspoons of blood could save a baby’s life
-approximately one out of every seven people entering hospitals needs blood

THANK YOU FOR DOING YOUR PART TO SAVE LIVES!!

2 thoughts on “save a life, please…it’s easier than it sounds!

Leave a Reply

