blown away by the normalcy.

I am constantly surprising myself when I shake something off and think, “Oh, okay, yeah, that’s just normal.”

Maybe I should provide some context…my friend was robbed at gunpoint a few days ago of a good chunk of cash and his phone. I’ve seen and heard stories of robberies, murders, kidnappings, and other horrendous actions my entire life on the radio, television, and social media. You can’t walk past a newspaper stand without seeing an article about a victim and/or criminal. Is it always sad and awful? Of course! But does it kind of not hurt as much because of the frequency? Sure, unfortunately. It just kind of becomes white noise. And that’s terrible!!! But when it’s someone you know, it’s shocking painful terrifying indescribable. There aren’t words that get it right, but I’m trying my best here.

When I found out, my voice got super high and whiny. My eyes started to water. Even the possibility of me losing him was too much. And the worst thing is it’s a real possibility, not a one in a million chance. He was a lucky one. Did you hear about that Sister that was killed here a few months ago? Sister Isa was killed in a robbery on her way to the prosthetic center she helped found after the 2010 earthquake. Like seriously, a freaking religious Sister was killed in the place she called home, the place she served with great joy.

It’s a scary world we live in, and this world could use all the prayers it can get.

2 thoughts on “blown away by the normalcy.

  1. peggyhogan says:

    You’ve seen more than most Americans in Haiti. Unfortunately violence is here too but not much fortunately in our community. Prayers are awesome for these victims. Can’t wait to get you home. I’ll keep your friend in my prayers! Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

